Throw Them In The Deep End!

Ha! Ok, so I arrive to school today to learn that we need to form a band, pick a song to cover, and have a rough arrangement within….2 hours. Yes….two. A couple of thoughts rushed to my mind as I learned of our new assignment:

  • f*$k
  • I’m not a performer…..what the heck am I gonna play?!?
  • f*#k
  • sh!t

After I got those nice curse words out of my system, I realized the different talents I will be able to bring to the table for a live performance plus I play a mean shaker 😉

The day turned out not to be as painful as I imagined upon hearing the assignment and I ended up with a cool eclectic group: 3 MC’s, a singer, a drummer, guitarist, and a producer/keys guy. Part of our assignment is to pick a song in a different genre to cover and we’re going with a Fleetwood Mac song and will be changing it to a hip hop/pop version. I’m confident its going to turn out solid.

We had some time to rehearse but since we didn’t have any instruments besides a drum kit, piano, and an old synth…..we couldn’t get as much finished as we would’ve liked to. Since I’m anal about everything I do, the minute I came home…..I laid down a rough idea of the track we’re doing so I can send it out to the rest of the band to get some ideas flowing.

All in all it was a good, partially stressful day. I swam.

p.s. I was assigned to be the MD for the band. Big boy pants now….that’s right.

About KRMJR

University of Westminster student
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Throw Them In The Deep End!

  1. Pingback: Reflection On The Past 4 Weeks [or Learning Outcomes] | How I Made A Million Dollars…or Pounds

Leave a comment