Research Lecture 10/6 UPDATE/DO-OVER

Now that Blackboard (or ‘ol faithful as I call her) is back up and running, I am able to tackle Chris’ tasks he had assigned for us from last Wednesday. The assignment (and my results) are as follows:

1. Click on ‘Library Search’, and then search for

Adorno culture industry from the ‘Books, journals & more’ tab. You’ll see a link to an online version of the book (an e-book); have at look at this book without reading it in any detail at this stage. -> The Culture Industry: Selected Essays On Mass CultureRoutledge Classicsby Adorno, Theodor W. Bernstein, J. M.

Then find this out: who wrote ‘Bass Culture’? -> Lloyd Bradley

2. Using the ‘Articles & more’ tab, search for these (write them exactly as you see them below), and see what you come up with:
* “james brown” and “civil rights” – plenty of results were returned but the only one that seemed to be relevant is an article by Michael Hanson called Suppose James Brown read Fanon: the Black Arts Movement, cultural nationalism and the failure of popular musical praxis
* music facebook – 612 results returned but the only one relevant (or caught my eye) was on the second page titled Is RootMusic a MySpace killer? I’ve had some hands on experience with linking Root Music to my facebook page and it results in a very clean layout. Mental note to come back to read this article.
* ipod culture
(see if you can work out how to find Michael Bull’s two articles on this subject using the options on the left of the screen, and download the pdf of the 2005 article) – downloaded the 14 page PDF titled “No Dead Air” and saved it to my articles to read folder. It looks like it will be an interesting read
* neo-soul post-modern – no results found
* glam rock – 77 results when typed with quotes around the search term
* hip-hop women videos (look particularly for an aricle called “Wher My Girls At?” and download that one) – Full text available and downloaded from JSTOR. Added to my downloaded articles to read folder.

Title: “Where My Girls At?”: Negotiating Black Womanhood in Music Videos
Source: Gender & society [0891-2432] Emerson yr:2002 vol:16 iss:1 pg:115 -135

3. Still from the same page and tab, try and find:
* …out why, when you search for “satanic metal”, there are only two titles, and both of these are identical even though the author seems to be the same; – Hmmm….10 titles resulted in my search
* …articles on Jazz before 1962 – I did a search for the term “Jazz” and narrowed my results by date for articles before the year 1969. 3 of the 6 results were before the year 1962.
* some articles by Chris Kennett – searched for “Chris Kennet” then narrowed my search to ‘author’. Resulting in 21 results, an interesting article which I downloaded from JSTOR is Segmentation and Focus in Set-Generic Analysis.

*update: I opened Chris’ article and my head started to spin and I think my eyes even bled a little as well. A bit overwhelming and in-depth to say the least. Not what I thought it would be….

 

Lloyd Bradley

 

About KRMJR

University of Westminster student
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment